About the Faculty


A leader in the mechanical engineering discipline towards global excellence through world class education and research.



To produce graduates with strong mechanical engineering fundamentals, analytical and leadership skills, competitive, creative, innovative, and professional ethics.



The history of Mechanical Engineering training at the Universiti Teknologi MARA began under the School of Engineering with the offering of Advanced Diploma in Mechanical Engineering programme in 1968, and subsequent introduction of the Diploma in Mechanical Engineering in 1972. As a result of expansion and restructuring process, the Faculty of Mechanical Engineering was established in 1996.

Since inception the Faculty has significantly contributed in providing quality engineering training to Bumiputra students. The conferment of university status to UiTM in 1999 has prompted the Faculty to be also active in research and development activities.

Currently the Faculty offers a total of six elective sub-programmes under EM110 programme code. The diploma programme is conducted in UiTM Penang campus, , Sarawak Campus, Bukit Besi Campus and Pasir Gudang Campus, while the bachelor and postgraduate programmes are held in the main campus in Shah Alam. Here in Bukit Besi Campus, there are two elective sub-programmes which are Mechanical Engineering and the newest Naval Architecture.


Faculty's Organisation